Computer Science

Division of Computer Science

807 Walker Avenue
Memphis, TN 38126
Office: 901 435-1283
Fax: 901-435-1298


Hours of Operation
Monday – Friday
8:30 A.M. – 4:30 P.M.

Center For Cybersecurity Links

Division Chair, Professor

Dr. Wei Ding



Academic Programs


The program educational objectives (PEOs) of B.S. in Computer Science at LeMoyne-Owen College are listed below:

  1. Graduates will inherit LOC’s rich HBCU heritage and liberal arts tradition and hence become creative, responsible, and conscientious citizens of United States and global society.
  2. Graduates will secure careers and will succeed in computing and IT related professions with various real-world applications.
  3. As productive IT professionals, graduates will work efficiently, communicate effectively, and hold high ethical standards as a team member and as a leader.
  4. Graduates will pursue a lifelong continuous earning and self-learning, help and mentor colleagues in this lifelong learning, and well adapt to the rapid pace of IT industry.


Student Outcomes (SOs) of B.S. in Computer Science at LeMoyne-Owen College are listed below:

  • SO1: Adequate knowledge and skills in computer science, including programming, data structures, algorithms, computer
    architecture, operating systems, networking, and database management systems, etc., in terms of breadth, depth, and hand-on
  • SO2: Ability to apply knowledge of computing to analyze given problems, and then to develop and implement solutions.
  • SO3: Capacity for entry-level employment or master’s degree.
  • SO4: Ability to function effectively in teams as a team member and as a team leader to accomplish given goal.
  • SO5: Ability to communicate effectively with a diverse range of audiences, both orally and in writing.
  • SO6: Adequate and timely understanding of professional, ethical, legal, and social issues and responsibilities.


Enrollment and degree data of BS in Computer Science at LOC

FT — full time
PT — part time

Educator Preparation Program


Dr. Wei Ding,
Division Chair, Professor
Mr. Darius Zarshenas
Dr. Jacob Ogunlade
Dr. Valerie Chu